The What'cha Reading 2016 NYCC Graphic Novel Give Away! ~ What'cha Reading?

The What’cha Reading 2016 NYCC Graphic Novel Give Away!

0

WRGiveAway1

 

For the first time What’cha Reading is running a New York Comic Con Graphic Novel Giveaway!

GARD Pro Not Registered

Every who signs up for the mailing list using this link, http://eepurl.com/cbCjzL , gets a chance to win one of ten excellent independent graphic novels handpicked by the editors and reviewers at What’cha Reading! These are books we have read ourselves and recommend, all are quality stories and publications. Winning any one of these is sure to bring hours of comic book goodness!

Here are some of this year’s books!

Salvagersvol1AbandonedCargoSALVAGERS Vol. 1 – Abandoned Cargo

Space adventure done right! Bob Salley has brought us a ragtag team of salvage dogs, flying around in space looking for wrecks to strip. It’s got guns, it’s got ships, it’s got alien races, and rounding it out is a really well written character driven story. A story I’m sure you’re going to love.

Here’s a preview of the first volume of this action-packed creator owned ongoing series.

 

27-small-cover127, A Comic Anthology

Red Stylo Media put together 50 writers and artists to tell amazing off-beat tales of those we lost too young. Each team used their favorite song or member of the 27 Club as inspiration for new and original comic stories and vignettes. And the results were amazing!

Musicians like Amy Winehouse, Kurt Cobain (Nirvana), Jim Morrison (The Doors), Janis Joplin, Brian Jones (The Rolling Stones), Alexander Levy (composer), Robert Johnson, Rudy Lewis (The Drifters), Dave Alexander (The Stooges), Richey Edwards (Manic Street Preachers), Kristen Pfaff (Hole), Jean-Michel Basquiat, Jeremy Michael Ward (Mars Volta), Helmut Kollen (Triumvirat), Mia Zapata (The Gits), Alan “Blind Owl” Wilson (Canned Heat), and more are here in tales never before imagined and brought to the page.

 

TOLB-PPPThe Only Living Boy #1: Prisoner of the Patchwork Planet

David Gallaher and Steve Ellis’ epic fantasy follows 12-year-old Erik on his journey to find his way home and hopefully his memories as well. Nominated for three Harvey Awards this is a must read!

This is classic adventure fiction in the vein of Burroughs and Kipling with a protagonist that will remind you of Tom, Huck, Jim Hawkins and all those other heroes you wanted to be when you were a kid.”

 

ShadowBindersBook1SHADOWBINDERS Book 1

The Shadowbinders webcomic has been online for years at www.shadowbinders.com. We loved it in 2014 when we posted our review of the webcomic in our short-lived Sunday (Web) Comics column. In it columnist Rosemary Kiladitas said Shadowbinders is a YA steampunk fantasy with magic, romance, and outright fun.” And she was right! Here’s the synopsis.

“Mia White was an ordinary high school girl with ordinary high school problems. That all changed the day she was given her grandfather’s mysterious journal and an even more mysterious antique ring — one that transports her to another world! Now this ordinary girl finds herself in an extraordinary realm filled with airships, flying serpents and clockwork cities! But her biggest challenge may come in the form of handsome, aloof (and downright infuriating) mage Crimson Rhen.”

 

PlanetGiganticTradePlanet Gigantic

This was my personal pick for best comic of 2014. The series ran over that year and the trade was released in 2015. It stands up perfectly. “Planet Gigantic is an all-ages sci-fi story about two genetically engineered tweens sent by to the stars by their parent corporation on a mission of exploration. Written by Eric Grissom, drawn by David Halvorson, and published by Action Lab. It’s an old-time, new age, sci-fi adventure. I’ve reviewed it multiple times, ran previews, tweeted about it. Hell I’ve done just about everything short of stand on a soap box and preach it to the masses.” (Best Comic of 2014 12/24/14 My Opinion http://whatchareading.com/best-comic-2014-opinion/) This book is so well done, and so much fun. The person who lands this one will be very very lucky indeed.

Two genetically engineered teenage astronauts crash land on a fantastic planet and are forced to grow up in a world filled with rock monsters, giant insects, smoke ninjas, and a cruel Queen who wants their powers. And that’s just on the first day.

 

And that’s just a few of what we’re giving away.

So click the link, sign up!

 

Standard contest rules apply, continental US residents only, prizes only awarded as offered no cash value offered.
GARD Pro Not Registered

About Author

Chuck Suffel is the Owner/Editor-in-Chief of Whatchareading.com. He loves comics, movies, tv shows. When it comes to comics his first loves are independents and small publishers. Feel free to drop him a note anytime at chuck@whatchareading.com

Got a comment? Let's hear it!