Akaneiro - A Really Solid Story Appealing to Fans of Bleach and InuYasha ~ What'cha Reading?

Akaneiro – A Really Solid Story Appealing to Fans of Bleach and InuYasha

0

By Robert “Rob Base” Greenwood

Akaneiro22675

This is the second issue in the three issue arc; I once again am struggling with the art. As far as story goes it’s really solid and fans who love books like Bleach and InuYasha should fall in love with this story. I just feel the art work lets it down too much.

GARD Pro Not Registered

I hope that at some point in time we could get an amazing animated film out of this, time will tell. If I had to pick a director I’d have to say Sayo Yamamoto (Lupin III: The Woman Called Fujiko Mine, Eureka Seven, High School of the dead and Panty & Stocking with garter belt)

I will not tell you anything about this book only because it is such a solid read and you really should just pick it up and read for yourself.

Here is Dark Horse’s official release statement:

American McGee’s re-envisioning of Red Riding Hood takes shape as this all-new story. The brave young warrior Kani battles a gauntlet of fantastic mythical beasts inspired by Japanese folklore. However, things are not what they seem, and danger lurks where Kani least expects it!

Justin Aclin (Star Wars: The Clone Wars) and Vasilis Lolos (Conan the Barbarian)!

Based on the hot new game by American McGee’s Spicy Horse Games!

RED RIDING HOOD REIMAGINED!

I still can’t see the appeal of an artist who at any given time can’t properly draw a hand or keep eyes consistent enough that they look almost human. Akaneiro; the path of cloak and wolf is really a great read but has no art to help sell it. I give issue #2 a 3/5 only because of how great the story is.

Akaneiro #2
Writer: Justin Aclin
Artist: Vasilis Lolos
Colorist: Michael Atiyeh
Cover Artist: Shu Yan
Genre: Fantasy
Publication Date: June 26, 2013
Format: FC, 32 Pages
Price: $3.99
UPC: 7 61568 22674 4 00211

Follow me on Twitter @AltMindz

GARD Pro Not Registered

About Author

Got a comment? Let's hear it!